GSS Committees

For GSS External Committee members: the standardized Committee Report Form can be found here.

GSS Standing Committees

The GSS has five standing Committees: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Policies and Procedure Committee, Student Life Committee and the Activities Committee. Each of these standing committees meets by-weekly to address issues from the Graduate Student body and ensuring the GSS’s smooth operation.

GSS Executive Committee


The Executive Committee is responsible for:

  • Recommending a budget to the Senate;
  • Preparing an agenda for Senate meetings;
  • Appointing individuals to standing committees and posts outside of the Graduate Student Senate, subject to the approval of the Senate;
  • facilitating communication among Senators and between Senators and their constituencies.

The Executive Committee has the authority to request reports from other Senate committees and appointees to outside committees or posts on their activities. The Executive Committee may appropriate expenditures as necessary between Senate meetings, subject to a three-fifths majority vote, consistent with the Finance Policies and Procedures. It may also voice its opinion on motions before the Senate and exercise jurisdictional authority over all disputes that cannot be settled at a lower level, including disputes between committees.

The Executive Committee Members are (AY 2024-2025):

Position Name Department Email
President Bryan Greene Sociology

Vice President Alaa Selim
Treasurer Emma Dashnaw Human Rights
Communications Director Gaurav Gupta
Noah Kravette Earth Sciences
Activities Director Vacant


GSS Activities Committee

The Activities Committee is responsible for scheduling and carrying out Senate-approved events applicable to the enrichment of the UConn Graduate Student Body. The Activities Committee is also responsible for planning, scheduling, organizing and advertising of GSS-sponsored events under Senate-imposed fiscal constraints.

2018-2019 members: Jennifer Caffyn; Alexis Ernst; Cynthia Gerber; Gabrielle Corso; Robert Daniels

2022-2023 members: Usman Ali; Gaurav Gupta; Mohammed Albayati; Muhammed Masudur Rahman; Saurabh Goswami

2023-2024 members: Essam BoraeyKyle Labe; Spencer Hayes; Anietie Wisdom Williams


GSS Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for making primary recommendation to the Senate for approval of a budget of Senate funding. The Committee has the authority to amend all funding requests, subject to Senate guidelines and approval.

2018-2019 members: Kevin Boyd; Justin Fang; Ngoc Chau Vy; Deepthi Varghese

2019-2020 members: Nafis Fuad; Robert Daniels; Robert Smith; Tulika Paul; Emily Green

2021-2022 members: Irio Schiano; Justin Fang; Usman Ali; Gianna Raimondi; Israt Jahan; Sandip Roy

2022-2023 members: Sandip RoyEthan Gossett; Maham Liaqat; Saurabh Goswami; Khaled Axel Djebbari; Srijana Dasgupta


GSS Policies and Procedures Committee

The Policies and Procedures Committee oversees and monitors the entire GSS election process, the validity of GSS membership and the credentials of Graduate Student Organizations. The Procedures Committee is responsible for reporting any possible violations to the Senate. The Policies and Procedures Committee is also responsible for delivering recommendations on disputes concerning the interpretation of the GSS Constitution and its by-laws. It is also responsible for recommending changes to the Constitution and by-laws.

2018-2019 members: Andrew Meguerdichian; Erin Curry; Ngoc Chau Vy; Deepthi Varghese

2019-2020 members: Damaris Thuita; Erin Curry

2020-2021 members: Irio Schiano 

2023-2024 members: Khaled Axel Djebbari; Mohsina Rahman; Luisana Duarte Armendáriz; Chao Wang; Usman Ali; Bryan Greene; Katayoun Matloubi


GSS Student Life Committee

The Student Life Committee is responsible for identifying and addressing any student life issue, brought to the attention of the Senate and delegated to the Student Life Committee by the Executive Committee. The Student Life Committee is also responsible for creating and organizing projects that will be directed towards or will improve graduate student life.

2018-2019 members: Erin Curry; Andrew Meguerdichian

2019-2020 membersErin Curry 

2020-2021 members: Maggie Khuu

2021-2022 members: Daniel Pfeiffer

2022-2023 members: Mohsina Rahman


GSS Public Relations Committee

The Public Relations Committee is tasked with the promotion of the GSS.

2018-2019 members: Ngoc Chau Vy; Elizabeth Asal; Cynthia Gerber


GSS Graduate Community Service Award Committee

The Graduate Service Award Committee is tasked with choosing the winner of the GSS Graduate Community Service Award.

2018-2019 members: Ngoc Chau Vy

2019-2020 members: Gabrielle Corso

2020-2021 members: Gabrielle Corso

2021-2022 members: Gabrielle Corso

2022-2023 members: Israt Jahan; Madeline Kollegger; Eunice Blemahdoo; Adaeze Maduako; Ranjana Burman; Maham Liaqat